As Seen on Facebook: Greek Yogurt Baked Chicken with Cilantro-Lime Rice & Corn

I have a lot of friends on the Book of Faces (Thorspeak for Facebook), and anyone who’s been sucked into that site for networking knows that there are a lot of “easy” recipes floating around.  My Beef with Broccoli post was originally found on Facebook and was a recipe (like many are) for the crockpot.  I like the sound of a lot of recipes my friends post on FB, but I save a lot of them up and don’t always remember to try them.

The other day, a long-time family friend posted one called Melt in Your Mouth Chicken, which I decided to try tonight and am now posting because it was delicious.  It was incredibly easy to prep, baked as melt in your mouth as the recipe on FB promised, and it was easy to clean up.  I made cilantro-lime rice (jasmine, of course) and corn to accompany it.  Now, the original recipe said to spread the yogurt mix all over the chicken, and it did come out really tasty all the way through, but I think next time, I’ll just brush it over the chicken breasts in a thin layer and then part of the way through cooking, I’ll brush a little more on so that it’s not a thick layer like I did this time.

INGREDIENTS

4 chicken breasts

1-2 cups Greek yogurt

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp seasoning salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

 

Heat oven to 375ºF.  Spray baking pan with Pam.  Cut away all the fat from the chicken breasts and make shallow score lines across the top.  Place into the baking pan.

chicken breasts in baking pan

In a mixing bowl, mix together the yogurt, Parmesan, garlic powder, seasoning salt, and pepper.

plain yogurt

yogurt with seasoning

yogurt and everything

Spread the mixture over the chicken breasts.  Now, as I said, this time, I just spread it on thick.  Next time, I’ll brush it on thinner and then halfway through baking, I’ll brush a little more on.  See if that’ll allow it to brown more.  Either way, the whole house smelled wonderful while it baked.

yogurt on the chicken

For the cilantro-lime rice, all I did was measure out the rice and water for the proper portions, and then I added some salt, three cap-fuls of lime juice (bottle this time, yes, but I’d say the juice of half to a whole lime if fresh), and fresh cilantro leaves (whole or chopped up).  Once the water boiled, I added the rice, turned down the heat to low, and cooked for 20 minutes.  The corn just went into the microwave with butter, but you can make any veggie you want to go with this.

full meal

 

Leave a Reply

