Adaptation is the key to survival: Beef with Broccoli

When a friend posted this recipe to Facebook, it was specifically for making this excellent dish in the crockpot.  Now I have absolutely NO PROBLEM AT ALL with crockpot cooking.  There are several meals I like to make involving my crockpot.  However, I wanted to make this on the stove in my new “every day pan,” which is a part of the new Tramontina cookware that the Roommate bought me in celebration of getting her tax money back.  So far, this cookware is amazing, and we bought it at Sam’s Club for an even better price than what’s quoted there.  But I was tired of having my other cookware warp and therefore cook unevenly.  With my newfound love of cooking, I needed something that would last me longer than two years because I shouldn’t have to replace cheaper cookware every two years, you know?

So tonight, I made this dish on the stove, and it is amazing.  Extremely simple.  As usual, I made jasmine rice to go with it.  I tell ya what.  I’ll post my adaptations, and then at the end of the post, I’ll post the crockpot directions for anyone who wants to do it that way.  Deal?  Cool.

INGREDIENTS

1 pound boneless beef sirloin steak, sliced into thin strips, tenderized several times

1 cup beef broth

2-3 tbsp soy sauce

⅓ cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon sesame oil

1 tbsp garlic, minced

2 tablespoons cornstarch

Fresh broccoli florets (as many as desired)

Broccoli beef ingredients

 

DIRECTIONS

1.  Pour oil in the pan.

2.  In measuring cup (I use one of the Pyrex glass ones), combine beef broth, soy sauce, and brown sugar.  I use powdered beef broth by Knorr, about a spoonful into the glass and I add a cup of warm-hot water in it to mix it better.  The heat of this also helps with the brown sugar so that it mixes into the liquid.

3.  Put the cornstarch into another small bowl and add water, stirring until you’ve got a milky liquid.

4.  Take the steak(s) and cut away as much of the fat as you can.  Tenderize with spiky end of your meat tenderizer.  Do this on both sides.  Cut beef into thin strips, lie flat on your cutting board and pound with the tenderizer again on both sides.  Put into a bowl and set by the stove.

5.  Cut up broccoli into florets.  If you want to use mushrooms as I did (I used sliced shiitake mushrooms for this), then cut them up now.  Set both by the stove.

6.  Heat oil.  Add the garlic and stir around, keep from browning.

7.  Add beef and stir around until both sides are just barely done.

Beef strips cooking in sesame oil and garlic Beef ready for liquid

 

8.  Add in the liquid and stir all around, coating the meat.  Add in the broccoli (and mushrooms if using) and coat completely in the sauce.

Liquid added Broccoli and shiitake mushrooms added

 

9.  Add in the “liquid” cornstarch and stir until the sauce thickens.  Keep the heat on high or medium-high until the sauce thickens, then you can lower the heat all the way to low to keep it warm until you’re ready to serve.

Sauce thickening

 

Serve this over rice and eat until you’re so full that you won’t want to eat another bite (for at least an hour!).  Also if you want it a little less sweet (not that this is THAT sweet), you can always cut down the brown sugar to 1/4 cup.

Broccoli beef with jasmine rice and ice tea

 

Now, as promised, here’s the recipe for the crockpot version:

Beef and Broccoli

Ingredients

1 pound boneless beef chuck roast, sliced into thin strips

1 cup beef broth

 ½ cup soy sauce

 ⅓ cup brown sugar

 1 tablespoon sesame oil

 3 garlic cloves, minced

 2 tablespoons cornstarch

 Fresh broccoli florets (as many as desired)

 Directions

 1. Place beef in a crock pot.

 2. In a small bowl, combine broth, soy sauce, brown sugar, oil, and garlic. Pour over beef. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

 3. In a cup, stir cornstarch and sauce form the crock pot until smooth. Add to crock pot. Stir well to combine. (If your sauce is not thickening, try bringing your sauce to a boil on the stovetop with the corn starch mixture. Boil until your desired consistency is reached).

 4. Add broccoli to the crock pot. Stir to combine.

 5. Cover and cook an additional 30 minutes on high (the sauce has to boil for it to thicken).

 6. Serve over hot cooked rice.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Eve says:

    The broccoli gives great colour! 😀 I was hankering for some beef & rice yesterday and guh! Looks delicious!

    1. Thanks! It being fresh broccoli (instead of frozen) made it taste even better. This dish was soooooo easy. The longest time anything took was the prep — cutting the broccoli, tenderizing, cutting, and tenderizing (again) the meat. The mushrooms were already sliced (we bought them that way this time). Once that was all done, then I just had to wait for the rice to cook, and the beef part went together FAST. So good. I think you’d like this one!

  2. Katy says:

    Oh my god, this sounds amazing. I need to make this someday. I just need a meat tenderizer, ha.

    1. You do need to make it! So so so easy. And yeah. Meat tenderizers aren’t too expensive. You can get a quality (all one piece) metal one at Walmart usually pretty cheap. I use mine even on chicken when I need to make the breasts a little thinner so that they cook more evenly and faster all the way through (I hate it when the outside of chicken gets really done while the insides are still pink).

Leave a Reply

