If someone asks you if you’re a god, you say yes! : Double chocolate Heath cookies

With the holidays coming in just a few short weeks, the baking season is upon us.  Even with the weight of grad school papers and presentations and the like bearing down on my shoulders, stealing my sanity, I have made time for baking in the last two weeks.  In a way, this has helped me keep my sanity, giving me something enjoyable to do while I have to be mindful of my schoolwork.

INGREDIENTS

1 cup butter or margarine, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 cup baking cocoa
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
confectioners’ sugar

Heat the oven to 350°.  In a mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; gradually add to creamed mixture.  Mix together until all the batter is chocolate.  Add in the Heath Milk Chocolate English Toffee Bits and mix thoroughly.

Set up cookie sheets and spray (if you want) with Pam, then place balls of dough onto the cookie sheets.  Depending on how big or small you make them, you should get just over 60 cookies out of this amount of dough.  That’s what I wound up with anyway.

Place the cookies into the oven for 15-18 minutes, depending on your oven.  Once finished, place them on racks to cool down.  These are not soft and chewy cookies when they’re cool, but they are tasty.  I bet they would go great with a glass of ice cold milk!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Katy says:

    Those look and sound awesome! How much of the Heath bits did you use? I pretty desperately want some cookies now, lol.

  2. She Is Stranger Than Fiction says:

    I used the whole bag of them. It’s like when I make chocolate chip cookies and they suggest a “cup” of chocolate chips for a full batch. Fuck that. I use the whole bag. Same with the Heath bits. They’re fantastic, too!

Leave a Reply

