This might be the prettiest meal I’ve made: Trout in wine-lemon sauce, Cajun roasted potatoes and buttery almond asparagus

I know it’s been a few weeks since I posted something, but I keep forgetting to take my camera into the kitchen.  I will do better in the future, though I will warn that once school starts, I won’t be Geek Girling on Tuesdays-Thursdays (unless we have a class that’s cancelled) because between homework and getting to school, I won’t have time to cook anything spectacular.  Ugh.  Sorry about that.  Pesky school just keeps getting in the way of the life I want!

Anyway, tonight I decided I wanted to cook one of the pieces of steelhead trout, so I went searching for different ways to cook it (so that I wasn’t doing just the same old thing that I do with salmon or tilapia).  I found this recipe online called “Trout in Foil.”  Yes, that’s very original, and you can guess by the name of it, it’s trout that’s set up with liquid ingredients and herbs inside foil then broiled.  Very simple, I assure you.  I did make some adaptations, which is what I’ll post here and make note of the original recipe at the bottom.  Along with this, I wanted to do something different with potatoes, so I found the Roasted Cajun Potatoes, which were also adapted because I didn’t have shallots or cayenne pepper (or fresh parsley).  For a vegetable, I asked Kass to pick up some asparagus, but the fresh, she said, was pale, so she found frozen, which turned out to be perfect, especially with what I wanted to do with it.

INGREDIENTS (for trout)

trout

1/4 onion, cut up into large pieces

1 tbsp parsley

4-8 tbsp white wine

salt and pepper to taste

2-4 cloves garlic, minced

4-5 tbsp lemon juice (the original calls for 1 med. lemon, peeled and sliced)

2 tbsp butter, divided into four thin pats

Heat the oven to 400°.  Take a casserole dish and place a sheet of aluminum foil that is longer than the fish by about 3-5 inches on both ends into the dish, folding the sides up part of the way so that it will cup the liquids inside.  After you’ve cut the onions, pour in part of the wine and lemon juice then add the onion.  Place the trout on top of the onions.  Smear the minced garlic across the fish and add the salt and pepper.  Place two pats of butter on each piece of fish then top with the rest of the wine and lemon juice.  Close up the foil “boat” until none of the liquid can escape.  Cook for 20 minutes or until the fish is flaky.

INGREDIENTS (for Cajun roasted potatoes)

2-5 potatoes (2 if larger potatoes), peeled and cut up into wedges

1/4 cup EVOO (extra virgin olive oil)

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/4 onion, cut up small

1 tsp salt

1-2 tsp paprika

2-4 tbsp Louisiana hot sauce (in lieu of 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper)

1/2 tsp pepper

2 tsp parsley

Peel and cut each potato into whatever wedge size you prefer.  In the bottom of the casserole pan, pour in EVOO then put the potato wedges in, making sure to coat them completely with the oil.  Top with all the spices and hot sauce and mix well until all the wedges are coated.  Cover with foil and place in the oven on 400° and cook for 20 minutes until the wedges are tender when poked with a fork.  Ideally, you can put the potatoes and fish in at the same time since they cook on the same temp and for the same amount of time.  That’s if you cook these together for the same meal, of course.

INGREDIENTS (for asparagus)

8 or more asparagus spears (frozen or fresh)

2 tbsp butter

3 cloves garlic, minced

salt and pepper to taste

almond slivers

Spray microwave safe dish with Pam, then place however many spears you need to cook onto it.  Place pats of butter onto the asparagus, followed by the garlic, salt and pepper.  Finally top with the almond slivers, cover with a wet (but wrung out) paper towel .  Place in the microwave and cook for 3-4 minutes, until all the butter is melted.

Now, if I haven’t mentioned it before, I’m a bread person.  I love bread.  LOVE BREAD.  I’ve been learning how to make bread from scratch, and omg, so good!  But tonight, I didn’t have time to make homemade rolls, so I asked Kass to pick up some rolls.  I really wanted potato rolls, but our grocery store was out of them.  Instead, I asked her to pick up these:

These are soooooooo good!  They’re slightly sweet.  Don’t let the “sweet rolls” fool you.  They’re not doughnut sweet or anything but just the slightest bit sweet, and you just need to heat them in the microwave for about 25-30 seconds, split open and slather with butter for something so so so so good!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Katy says:

    That is a beautiful looking meal! I’ve heard lots of good things about the “stuff in foil” recipes for fish… and I can see why it would work so well to keep the flavoring stuff in. I imagine it makes the fish super moist and tender, too.

    The potatoes would likely be a bit spicy for me, but they still look and sound pretty damn good.

    Did you cover the asparagus with a paper towel to cook it? There appears to be a word missing. 😛

    And I’ve become quite spoiled with bread, since my mom works in a bakery. I love bread, and we have a pretty steady supply of a great variety of high quality breads. It’s wonderful.

  2. She Is Stranger Than Fiction says:

    Exactly. Foil keeps the moisture in and keeps things from crisping too much. Though I don’t always cover fish or potatoes when I cook them. This meal just made me want to because it was different.

    Actually, the potatoes weren’t really spicy at all. Probably if I’d used actual cayenne pepper, they might have been more spicy, but the Louisiana hot sauce gave them a different flavor without a huge kick at all. I was surprised and expected them to be -really- hot.

    HAHA! Yes, a wet paper towel. I’ll edit that, thanks for letting me know! Kass and I have found that whenever we want to heat anything that’s in anyway splatter-able, if we cover it with a -wet- paper towel (as opposed to dry), it doesn’t splatter, and the moisture from the towel seems to not dry it out.

    I love bread. There’s some bread I do not like (rye bread, for example, though I love pumpernickel, and that’s supposed to be a type of rye), but otherwise, there is nothing more comforting than hot bread with butter on it. Nom.

  3. Katy says:

    I’ve done the foil thing… once, I think. And I know my dad has used it to cook fish out on the grill. It’s not always needed, but particularly with flavorful extras (like the wine lemon sauce) I can see it helping to keep all the flavors together.

    Hmm… well, maybe I will have to try that with the potatoes or something similar at least. The starchiness probably does cut the heat a lot. I don’t think I’d be brave enough to really go for the cayenne.

    Lol, I hate when I accidentally a word. ;p I try to remember to do the paper towel thing sometimes, because gunky microwaves are gross to clean. It’s worse when it’s something smelly that gets all over, or something that cooks on. Ugh.

    Bread is awesome. I do like rye bread, but prefer lighter ryes, and generally want other flavor with it. My mom’s bakery does an onion dill rye that’s not so heavy on the rye, and I really like that. There isn’t much in the realm of bread that I don’t care for, though.

  4. I’ve done several things in foil” in the oven and on the grill. Though I haven’t done fish on the grill yet. I want to though, but I want to wait until I have more than just Kass and me to grill for. It won’t take that long to cook, and I just can’t justify setting up the whole huge grill just for two small pieces of fish. I think I need to invest in a hibachi so that we have something much smaller for tinier meals.

    I think the olive oil helps to temper down the hot sauce, too. I’m not sure, but it did give the potatoes an interesting flavor with the paprika and onions and garlic. Yum. I’m definitely making them again.

    I hate it when I leave out words, too. You’d think as a writer, I wouldn’t do that shit, but I think I’m just old now and forget way too much. Heh.

    I think my problem with rye is that it’s such a dry bread. At least the rye I’ve had. I didn’t care for the flavor.

Leave a Reply

