…we’ll grow feathers and cluck: Chicken Katsu and Rice

One of the first ‘new’ and easiest recipes I learned to make after my ex and I split up and I determined that I wanted to prove I could cook was chicken katsu.  A friend of mine made it for me, and I was immediately hooked on it.

INGREDIENTS

2-3 chicken breasts

2 cups Panku (Japanese bread crumbs)

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 cups flour

1-2 eggs, in a shallow bowl, beaten

(for sauce)

1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup ketchup

1 tbsp soy sauce

black pepper, to taste

2-4 scallions, chopped up

In a bowl, mix together the three liquids until smooth.  Add black pepper (I always use cracked black pepper, but ground pepper can be used just the same) and mix.  Then add in the scallions (green onions).  Mix again and set in the fridge for at least 20 minutes.  While this is setting up, you can start your rice or as I like to do, prep the chicken.

First take three shallow bowls and set them side by side with a platter of some sort at the very end for the finished battered chicken.  Cut away all fat from the chicken breasts, and you probably want to pound them out a bit so that they’re flatter.  They’ll cook more evenly this way and will cook all the way through faster.  Lightly salt and pepper the breasts then dip them first in the flour, making sure that they’re entirely coated.  After that, put them through the egg wash and finally the panku, again making sure that they’re entirely covered.  Set them on the platter and set the platter by the pan you’ll use to pan-fry them in.

When your rice is almost finished (or finished), put the oil in the pan and heat it up on high.  Place the chicken into it and cook each side for about 3-5 minutes (depending on the size of the chicken breast).  This will ensure that the chicken will get cooked all the way through.

Before the chicken finishes, spoon out the rice onto the plates and pat it down so that it makes a bed for the chicken.  You will put the chicken directly onto the rice, which will absorb the oil from cooking.

The last thing you do before you get to sit down and eat this delicious meal is top the chicken and rice with the sauce.  Finally, eat eat eat until you’re too full to move!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kat says:

    Wow, that looks really good! Chicken katsu is one of fave things to order! Thanks for sharing! I’m new to blogging and love that there is a foodie community! If you have time, please check out my blog: http://shecooksandheeats.wordpress.com/. And of course! Any advice would be great 🙂

    1. You’re welcome! I’d never even heard of this before a friend of mine cooked it for me and sent me the recipe on allrecipes.com. It is -so- easy to make! I’m going to link your blog on my links section! 🙂

Leave a Reply

