Happy 4th griller: Chipotle lime sirloin steak, baked potatoes, corn and garlic bread

I have discovered that I love grilling.  I’m sure there are several tricks I could learn to improve my grill-fu, but I think for a beginner, I’ve done really well.  So when Kass and I decided to grill steaks and potatoes for July 4th, I told her I wanted to try the chipotle-lime marinade that we both love on chicken so much.  She agreed.

INGREDIENTS

2 or more sirloin steaks (or other cut, whichever you prefer)

2-4 tbsp of ground up chipotle peppers in adobo

1/2-1 cup lime juice

Garlic salt to taste

2 or more baking potatoes

2-3 tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)

Cracked sea salt

I pulled the steaks down from the freezer on Friday afternoon, and once they were thawed, I scored across them with a sharp knife.  Not too deeply, mind you.  Just enough.  Then I put half a cup of lime juice, some garlic salt and two tbsp of the chipotle into the bottom of the Tupperware container that I would leave them in until I was ready to cook them.  I set the steaks inside then added the rest of the lime juice, garlic salt and chipotle to the top, covered the container and stuck it in the fridge.

Steaks in marinade

One of the first things to do is get the grill started.  Now, I tend to do my best to appease the fire gods, and thus far, my grilling experiences have worked!  The one trick I have learned (and this may well be a ‘duh’ to most people) is that I put the lighter fluid onto the charcoal and then leave it alone for 5-10 minutes while it absorbs into the charcoal.  Only then do I light it, and the charcoal gets a really good fire going.

The Fire Gods are pleased

Now, while I waited for the fire to temper down, I went back to the kitchen to prep the potatoes for baking.  What I’ve figured out to do makes the potatoes so good.  First, I washed the potatoes and dried them.  Then I used a fork to poke holes all the way around them.  I set out pieces of aluminum foil then poured a little EVOO over the potatoes before rubbing it all over until the potatoes are completely covered.  After I washed my hands, I cracked sea salt all over them and wrapped them up and set them out on the grill.

Normally I would set up my own garlic bread, but tonight, I wanted to use the quickest (and I’ll admit, laziest) option.  So the roommate was cool enough to run to the store for me and bought some of the store bought garlic bread from the freezer.  There’s a grilling option, which I found out the last time I grilled.  Basically, you follow the instructions on the bag, which is essentially to wrap it in foil and stick it on the grill for 10 minutes.

Once the potatoes started to feel soft, I put the steaks and bread onto the grill then closed the cover back up, returning only to turn the steaks.

Once everything was done, I put butter on the potatoes, sliced the bread, and both the roommate and I ate until we burst.  🙂

Leave a Reply

