Not for the faint of stomach or tongue: Chipotle Lime Chicken with jasmine rice and corn

I’ll admit from time to time that my recipes come from my ex-husband.   Of the two of us for 17 years, he preferred to do most of the cooking, and even though he encouraged me to cook, he was a perfectionist.  The kitchen was his artist studio, the stove and oven his canvas.  So when I did cook, as an ‘art instructor’, he was much more critical than he realized he was being, giving me a dislike of cooking and a belief that I sucked at it.  Later, he apologized, and by that point, we were split up, still friends, and I was making the kitchen my playground.  So from time to time, I’ll cook stuff that I learned from him because there are a lot of good recipes I got from him; though with most recipes, I’ll probably be adapting them.

Like today’s.

INGREDIENTS

2-4 chicken breasts

2-5 tbsp blended chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1/2 – 1 cup lime juice

garlic salt, to taste

2-3 tbsp cooking oil (I tend to use vegetable oil, but EVOO can be used, too)

DIRECTIONS

In preparation, you’ll need lime juice (bottled or fresh, whichever you have on hand) and a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  You want to blend up the can in a food processor or blender.  Put it all in a container that you can store in the fridge because unless you’re making a huge meal, you aren’t going to want to use a whole can.  This stuff is HOT!

Cut away all the fat from the chicken and put it into a bowl with lime juice and garlic salt, making sure that it’s been completely coated.  Add garlic salt and more lime juice on top then spoon out some of the blended chipotle on top.  Set aside (or if possible, marinade for an hour or more).

Now, while that’s marinating, you want to start your rice.  I always use jasmine rice because it smells awesome while cooking, and the flavor of it is much better than plain white rice.  Most people know how to cook rice, but for a quick lesson on how I make mine, this is what I do.  A half cup of uncooked rice will make a whole cup of cooked rice.  Since my roommate and I both love rice so much, I use a cup of uncooked rice for the two of us.  Normally, when you measure out the water for this much rice, it says to use two cups of water for one cup uncooked rice (or if you’re cooking for just yourself, use one cup of water for 1/2 cup of rice), but even cooked all the way, that makes the rice kind of wet.  I prefer my rice to be drier and a little stickier, so if I’m cooking one cup of uncooked rice, I use a cup and a half of water.  Or if I’m just making rice for myself, 3/4 cup of water for 1/2 cup uncooked rice.  Get the water to a nice rolling boil then add the rice to the pan and make sure that all the rice is covered by the water.  Put the lid on it, lower the temperature to the Low setting and cook for 20 minutes.  When it’s finished, turn off the burner underneath and leave the pan there so that it stays warm.

When there’s only about 5-7 minutes left on the rice, heat up the oil in the frying pan.  Put in the chicken then pour in all the lime juice.  Add more chipotle depending on how spicy you want it.  Turn the chicken until it’s completely cooked, stirring the sauce together.

Plate up the rice first.  I usually add a pat or two of butter/margarine before I put the chicken on the plate.  Add veggie of choice.  Then if you want to, spoon some of the sauce over the rice.  Just a little unless you really want to burn your mouth.  The chicken can also be cubed into pieces before adding it to the marinade.

Now, the original recipe that my ex came up with:

Lime Chipotle Chicken

Ingredients:

2-3 tbsp olive oil

1 small onion, diced (approx. 1 cup)

6 cloves of garlic, chopped fine

1 1/2 cups diced Roma tomatoes (or halved grape tomatoes)

3 tbsp blended chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

6 oz. tomato sauce

1 1/2 cups chicken broth

2 tsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp ground cumin

2-4 limes (juice of)

salt and pepper to taste

2-6 chicken breasts

Before making the sauce:

Marinate the chicken breasts in the juice of 2-3 limes, 1 tsp of blended chipotle peppers and 3 tsp olive oil.  Marinate for approximately 4-6 hours.

Sauce:

Start by heating olive oil on a low to medium heat in frying pan.  Sauté onion and garlic for several minutes until onion starts to become translucent.  Add tomatoes and continue to sauté for approximately two to three minutes.  Add tomato sauce and chicken broth to the pan.  Next add 2 to 3 tbsp of the blended chipotle peppers.  Add approximately the juice of 2 limes (or you can add the marinade to the sauce at this point instead of just lime juice), chili powder and cumin. Bring sauce to a low boil then reduce to medium heat to allow sauce to reduce approximately 5-10 minutes.

Take marinated chicken breasts and heat in a small amount of olive oil in a frying pan.  Cook chicken till about 3/4 done, turning on a regular basis to keep from over browning.  When chicken reaches 3/4 done, move chicken breasts into the sauce and allow to finish cooking with the sauce.  When chicken breasts are completely cooked, it should be ready to serve.

NOTE: A version of this recipe can be made by lightly breading and pan frying the chicken.  In which case, cook the chicken all the way through until the crust is a golden brown and don’t add to the sauce.  The sauce is added on top of the chicken when served.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. jenn says:

    I like the simplicity of your version better. And it looks fabulous!

    1. Thanks! I think when I made it the first few times, I totally forgot all the stuff Jeff put in his and I didn’t bother to pull up the recipe. I was making it “from memory.” Oops. Seems my memory’s shit. LOL Though I will admit that I love the cherry or grape tomatoes he puts into it, so I might splurge one of these times and buy the grape tomatoes and put those and onions into it for the extra flavor.

  2. Sounds delicious. Obviously, that particular brand of Chipotles in the sauce are local to your area, but I’m curious…what’s the sodium content on that can? I know canned things are sometimes incredibly high in sodium and we can’t cook with a lot of high-sodium things (primarily for James, but it’s also a good idea for me).

    By the way, love the blog 🙂 And the step-by-step is nice. I’d do everything on here, except I use a rice cooker instead of cooking rice on the stove. The smell is still just as glorious when we make Jasmine rice.

    1. Total Fat 1g, Sodium 200mg, Total Carbs 3g, Protein 0g, Calories 20, Calories from Fat 10.

      This is extremely delicious. It’s spicy but served with the rice to help tone it down, it’s just perfect. One of these days, I’m going to try this sauce on steak that I grill out on the bbq grill. I just need to get some good quality cut steaks and marinade them in this overnight.

      Thanks, btw! I’m adding your link to my links section. 🙂 I’ve tried to use a rice cooker and I just can’t get them to work right. I’m so used to cooking rice on the stove.

      1. That’s not too bad, actually, especially given that I wouldn’t eat the entire can for one meal.

        Oh, about the blog – I don’t use it much anymore. I might do one like yours in the future, but for now I don’t have time.

        1. Yeah, what I made last night (because Kass asked for something with a “kick”) was actually spicier than I usually make it. It was really good though.

          That’s fine. I still enjoyed your past posts, so I’ve linked it. 🙂 If you do a new one in the future, let me know and I’ll link that one, too.

  3. Katy says:

    I have a feeling this would be a wee bit too spicy for me, but I might try to adapt it in some other way to make it less so. Maybe marinating the chicken in the chipotle stuff, but not adding any more? I can also see that it would be really good with some of the additional stuff, like the tomatoes and the onions. And maybe the cumin, because my dad uses cumin a lot and otherwise I forget about it, but I actually really like the flavor. But I’ll second an above comment about liking the simplicity of your version.

  4. Yeah, you totally control the amount of spice you want with this stuff. I added several spoonfuls on top while I was marinading it then added several more for the sauce. That’s why it was really spicy (but oh so tasty). It can easily be toned down. I always forget Jeff’s recipe because I make it my own way, but I think the next time I make this, I’ll try adding the tomatoes and onions at most. I don’t really think it needs the extra tomato sauce, tbh, though I do think one of these times I’ll do the lightly breaded chicken.

    And thanks! Simplicity is really good, esp when you’re cooking on a time limit or something.

  5. Eve says:

    The chicken looks really yummy at the end!!

    I’d probably slice it up and stick it in a fresh baguette with some coleslaw [swoon!]

  6. It is a really yummy dish. I want to try the marinade one of these days with a really good cut of steak. Marinade it overnight then toss it out on the grill to cook.

Leave a Reply

