X-Tastic Smoothie: The Pixie

Today was a say anything smoothie day.  (Yes, I know that Miss Vita Boheme talks about a say anything ‘hat’ day, but I didn’t want to wear a hat; I wanted to drink a smoothie, so there.)  And today, I felt like making my favorite smoothie combination: strawberry and pineapple.

As per the last smoothie, I used 5 ice cubes, which I put into the blender and pulsed it until the ice was all crushed.  Then I added about three-four small scoops of pineapple sherbet, 5-6 frozen strawberries and a small can of pineapple juice.  See, I keep these small cans around because as much as I love pineapple juice, I’m not going to drink it (or mix it) fast enough to warrant the larger cans, which will then go bad, even in the fridge.  So, even though they cost a little more, it’s far more cost effective to buy the six packs of the small cans.  I don’t know about your grocery stores, but HEB has a Hill Country Fair brand, and it tastes just as good as Dole.  Anyhoo.  So blend from there, and you get a fantastic strawberry-pineapple smoothie, which I have named the Pixie after the cute little X-Man by the same name.

The Pixie
3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katy says:

    Oh man, I LOVE pineapple juice. This sounds so amazing right now. Or at any time.

  2. I love pineapple juice, too. But like I said, I don’t see the point in buying a whole big thing of it where it has to sit in the fridge and not get drunk fast enough. A lot of mixed (alcoholic) drinks I like use pineapple juice, but the little cans are awesome for that because it’s just enough for a glass. And now that I’m doing smoothies more, they’ll be perfect for those, too.

    1. Katy says:

      We used to get the little cans… I don’t know that I’d go through a big one, either. Haven’t had any around lately, but it sure is good. Especially in the summer.

Leave a Reply

