Quick and Easy: Honey chicken (served with jasmine rice and Brussels sprouts)

I was looking online for something different to fix tonight with the two chicken breasts that I pulled down and thawed on the thawing tray (formerly called a Miracle Thaw).  I didn’t want to do the same old same old, though honestly, some of those ‘same olds’ will need to be fixed so they can be posted here, but that’ll come down the line.  Anyway, I was looking on one of my favorite recipe sites, All Recipes, and I found Honey Chicken, which definitely intrigued me.  Not to mention that I had everything on the ingredients list, except for the curry powder because since beginning to cook a few Indian dishes, I learned that it’s better to keep the various spices that go into curries available instead of the pre-mixed powders.  So I improvised.  For those who like to keep “curry powder” around, the link is there for the recipe I used.  And here is the recipe after I adapted it.

Honey Chicken

Ingredients

3/4 cup orange juice

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/4 cup olive oil

1/2 cup honey

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/4 tsp Garam Masala

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp coriander

1/2 tsp paprika

4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

Directions

To Marinate: In a nonporous glass dish or bowl, combine the orange juice, lemon juice, oil, honey, salt, pepper, garam masala, cumin, coriander and paprika. Mix well, then add chicken breasts and toss to coat. Cover dish and refrigerate to marinate overnight.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Remove chicken from marinade, discarding of any remaining marinade, and place in a lightly greased 9×13 inch baking dish.

Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through and juices run clear.

Now I didn’t discard all of the marinade when I put the chicken into the baking dish, and I used only two chicken breasts as there’s just my roommate and myself (and I didn’t get to marinade this overnight, which I do want to try sometime to see how much better it will taste!).  I poured some of the marinade over the chicken in the baking dish to make sure that it didn’t dry out while cooking, and I wasn’t disappointed.  This is a very tasty dish, and I made jasmine rice to go with it.  For myself, I steamed a packet of Bird’s Eye Brussels sprouts and a packet of Bird’s Eye sweet peas for Kass.  These packets are brilliant, by the way, especially for people who don’t like the same veggies.  So far, these are the only two we tend to buy because we both like corn, green beans, cauliflower…but she won’t eat Brussels sprouts, and I only eat peas if I don’t have another vegetable choice.  They’re well-worth the cost.

Chicken in the marinade

 

Chicken before

 

Chicken after

 

Honey chicken on my plate

 

Complete meal
9 Comments Add yours

  1. Katy says:

    Goodness, that sounds amazing. I love citrus and honey together, and the whole thing just sounds and looks wonderful!

    1. It was amazing! So light and easy to make. The prep time wasn’t even that long on this one. I love citrus and honey together, too, and I’ve done several different dishes with orange juice as the main base for a marinade (it is fucking awesome with steak). But this is the first time I’ve added those spices. ❤

      1. Katy says:

        I made some kind of sauce with orange juice, honey, ginger, and red pepper for chicken. It was pretty good, though it would have been better if it had been thickened. I’m sad I don’t get all that many chances to be experimental in the kitchen. ;P

  2. To thicken it next time, put corn starch on the chicken before you cook it. Or even add a little corn starch into the sauce and whisk it really well before you put it into the pan so that it doesn’t clump. You can do the same with four depending on what consistency you want the sauce to be.

    1. Katy says:

      Yeah, that’s what I was thinking of doing, but I didn’t have any cornstarch at the time. I might just try to cook the sauce itself until it thickens up a little, should I ever do something like that again.

  3. Sounds like a plan. 🙂

  4. Personally I felt we could have spiced it up even more…

    1. I just need to play with the ‘curry’ part of it, and it would probably help if I actually -did- marinate it overnight instead of just 15-20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

