Namaste: Chicken Vindaloo

Look!  A post that doesn’t involve cheese.  This will make one of my cheese-intolerant friends very happy indeed.

Over the last three days, my friend Jenn came down to visit.  It was awesome, and I got to whip out my mad kitchen superpowers for her again (back when I graduated in 2009 with my BA, she came for the actual graduation and I made chicken katsu for her, which she loved, and one day I will make and post here).  I’d determined that I was going to make either chicken vindaloo or chicken tikka masala.  She asked for the vindaloo because she’s a big ol’ Red Dwarf fan, and I was happy to oblige because I am, too.

INGREDIENTS:

Onion, chopped

1 tsp vinegar

1 garlic clove (1 tsp minced garlic)

1/2 tsp ginger

1 tsp tomato paste

1 tsp garam masala

1 tsp tumeric

1/2 tsp paprika

1/2 cumin

1/2 coriander

1/4 tsp cayenne

2 tbsp vegetable oil

1 1/2 cup chicken broth

DIRECTIONS:

Blend first eleven ingredients and 1/4 tsp of cayenne in processor until paste forms.  Heat oil in pan over medium heat.  Add paste until golden, stirring occasionally.  Add chicken, stirring occasionally.  Add chicken broth and stir.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

